It is illegal for an uninsured driver to drive a vehicle in the state of Texas, or in any other state for that matter. Insurance Journal stated that the national average is about one in seven uninsured drivers. The statistics are staggering, not only because driving without insurance is against the law, but also because it is a crime that is so easily discovered by police.
Worse yet, this trend of driving without insurance has increased in the last 10 years. Insurance Journal went on to state that the percentage of uninsured drivers has risen to 12.7 to 14.6 from the period of 1999 to 2004. As the recession grows worse, we can only imagine how many drivers will have to cancel their insurance policy because of rising premiums—but still take risks out on the road.
What happens if an uninsured motorist
hits your car? Sure, he may be arrested if a policeman comes to the scene. However, you will be stuck with the bill for the vehicle accident and your car’s damages. Without an insurance policy, there is no liability. The problem has gotten so prevalent that car insurance companies are now selling uninsured motorist coverages. CarInsurance.com
details a few aspects of uninsured driver
protection: uninsured motorist bodily injury, underinsured motorist bodily injury and uninsured property damage. Not only can you pay for your own coverage but also for the coverage of other drivers (such as within the same family) and for the coverage of passengers driving with you. That’s a lot of money being spent on someone else’s mistake.
What the insurance companies don’t want you to know about (or at least what they downplay as “very difficult”) is a personal injury lawsuit against an uninsured motorist. Legally speaking, you have the right to sue an uninsured driver for all bodily injury and property damage if he is at fault. You even have the right to sue an underinsured driver, provided there are no state laws regarding “no fault” torts. The insurance companies profit from these uninsured motorist policies so they’re not too anxious to refer you to an attorney when you could be buying protection.
True, you might not want a lawyer for a fender bender vehicle accident. However, if an uninsured person’s negligence and willful intent to not pay for liability is costing you thousands of dollars in medical bills and property damage, you absolutely must contact a lawyer.
ran a different article in 2003 stating some astonishing statistics straight from the state of Texas. According their site 18 percent of Texans are uninsured, which is an amount higher than surrounding states of Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana and even the U.S. national average.
If you have been wrongfully injured or have lost your vehicle because of a vehicle accident, contact an attorney. The Rasansky Law Firm
may be able to help represent you in a personal injury case. It’s time for the uninsured drivers of America to stop avoiding responsibility. Call 1-877-659-1620 to review your case and your rights.